When you are convicted and get your license back you won’t be charged the same insurance premium. Your insurance premium will be much higher than before based on your Motor Vehicle Record (MVR). Whether you are “driving under influence” or “driving while intoxicated” you will be charged heavy fines. The one thing that will give you relief is that DUI or DWI won’t affect your premium rates for a longer period of time. It may be for two or three years depending upon your MVR. Insurance companies look at your driving history or MVR to assess the premium rate. Sometime your application for a car insurance policy may be rejected due to your MVR history. Insurance companies usually look 3 to 5 years back at your history when assessing premium for your car insurance policy. If your driving history is good past ten years or so then you don’t have to worry about insurance premium rates.
DUI offense impact on your MVR or driving record varies from state to state. For tracking driving violations different states use different types of systems. Some states use a points system and different violations have different points. The time that violations will remain on your record depends on the type of violation you have done. The penalty for DUI varies across states due to different laws and regulations. There is also the Blood Alcohol Limit (BAC) which is 0.08 minimum and if you’re tested positive above that limit then you will be charged with DUI. You can expect a DUI to remain on your record for anywhere between five to 10 years depending upon your Motor Vehicle Record (MVR). Some states suspend your license for DUI and some charge you high points. It is very difficult to get your name cleared ones you are on record. There is one good thing that your DUI have an expiry period that is imposed by the state and is called “look back” provisions or “step down” provisions. The time of the “look back” provisions also vary from state to state. For example, if a state has a “look back” provision of 10 years and you commit your second DUI offense after a decade then your previous DUI will not be considered for a penalty. It just remains the part of your MVR. Here are some penalties that are imposed by different states:
California: DUI offense will stay on your MVR for 10 years you’ll be fined two points which will remain on your record for 13 years.
Florida: In Florida, your DUI offense will stay on your MVR for 75 years and in case you committed offense for the first time than 50 hours of community service will be your penalty and your license may be suspended.
Illinois: In Illinois, your offense stays on your record for life. Your license will be revoked for one year.
New York: In New York, a DUI offense will remain on your record for 15 years in addition to other penalties in form of points.
North Carolina: In North Carolina, your DUI offense will remain or you MVR for 7 years and your license will be revoked for one year.
Tennessee: In Tennessee, your DUI offense will remain on your record for life. Other fines are also imposed on form points.
Texas: Same is the case in Texas and your DUI offense will remain on your record for life. In addition to you will be paying $1000 annually for 3 years as a penalty.